Public Records Requests

Public Records Requests

To submit a Public Records Request to the Nebraska State Patrol, please complete the form below. 

Your request must be sufficiently detailed so as to enable a government entity to identify the specific records sought. Please keep in mind that no State of Nebraska agency is required to create records or documents to fulfill a Public Records Request. If there is a required monetary deposit for your request, you will be notified accordingly.

Public Records Request

you may also mail your requests to:

Nebraska State Patrol

Legal Division - Public Records Request

PO Box 94907

Lincoln NE  68509

Pursuant to Nebraska Law, written requests for information or photocopies are processed within four business days.  If a request is extensive or difficult to process within the four day period, the Nebraska State Patrol will provide you a written explanation, a good faith estimated completion date, and an estimated charge for requested records.  You will then have an opportunity to modify or prioritize your request.

Pursuant to Nebraska Law, if the request you are making involves a pending criminal case, your request may be denied until that case has been resolved.

The Nebraska State Patrol can charge a fee for records requested once the research time exceeds four hours.  The Nebraska State Patrol policy provides that cost for public records are billed at $38.00 per hour for computer technician time billed to the one-half hour and clerk time billed at $25.00 per hour billed to the one-half hour.  The cost for copies is $0.25 per page.  The agency may require a deposit before the request is fulfilled if the amount of the request exceeds $50.00.

these items, while not required, can help expedite fulfillment of your request and avoid delays:

  • Complete all fields contained in the online submission form as thoroughly as possible.
  • Be as specific as possible with respect to the type of record sought, i.e., records relating to a fatality accident, or arrest narrative.
  • Contact the proper agency or division (for example, NSP is not the custodian of vehicle accident reports/photos, or reports or records created by other agencies, even during the course of a joint investigation of activity).

 

Criminal history record requests should not be sent via this submission form, but can be made here:

 

 

CRIMINAL HISTORY REQUEST

ONLINE BACKGROUND CHECK SERVICES

ONLINE Criminal History Checks-

ONLINE Payment ONLY for Fingerprint Based Requests - PayPort
If you are required to obtain a fingerprint based national criminal history record check and you are required to pay for this request yourself, you can pay online with an echeck or a credit card using the "PayPort" link below. You must still have your fingerprints taken at a Nebraska State Patrol location or taken at another location and mailed to the agency to which you are applying

Questions can be direct to the Nebraska State Patrol Criminal Identification Division at (402) 479-4971.

 

ACCIDENT REPORT REQUESTS

Requests for Accident Reports are processed by the Nebraska Department of Transportation. You may contact that office by clicking Accident Report Requests below or at the following address:

Accident Report Requests

Nebraska Department of Transportation Accident Records Division/Highway Safety
PO Box 94759
Lincoln NE  68509-4759
or by phone at 402-479-4645