NSP Foundation

NSP Foundation

The Nebraska State Patrol Foundation is a charitable, non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of life in Nebraska by enhancing the law enforcement services of the Nebraska State Patrol.

Established in 1986, the Foundation supports the activities of the Nebraska State Patrol where restricted government funding cannot. Contributions received through the Foundation from private individuals, businesses, and grants are designated for specific needs such as specialty equipment, advanced officer training, police service dogs, and community education.

Click the buttons on the right to learn more about the Foundation and our programs, or contact us at nspfoundation@gmail.com.

Your donation to the Foundation is an investment in Nebraska's future. Contributions may be sent to:

Nebraska State Patrol Foundation
P.O. Box 80075
Lincoln, NE 68501-0075

The Nebraska State Patrol Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.

What We Do

The Nebraska State Patrol Foundation supports several designated areas of need, including advanced officer training, accident reconstruction, and specialized tactical and safety equipment. Below are some of our most popular programs:
Community Service Education Program

Public safety goes beyond l aw enforcement- it's about identifying problems and making connections in the community to create unique solutions. The Nebraska State Patrol's Community Service Education Program counsels thousands of Nebraskans each year on such diverse topics as personal safety, drug, alcohol, and gang resistance, Internet safety, and reducing motor vehicle fatalities. The program's ability to adapt to the changing times and engage audiences with fresh ideas makes it one of the Patrol's most valuable assets.

As part of Nebraska's goal to bring motor vehicle fatalities to zero, the Community Service Education Program utilizes interactive presentations with tools like the Rollover Simulator, Seatbelt Convincer, and Driving Simulator to emphasize the importance of safe driving habits. Click here for more information on the program or to schedule a presentation.

Police Service Dogs

The Nebraska State Patrol's canine officers are as vital to the agency's mission as their human counterparts. Police service dogs and their handlers form an inseparable team, living, training, and working together to complement each other's skills. Training and certification is ongoing throughout the team's career, and is completed at the Nebraska Law Enforcement Training Center in Grand Island.

Police service dogs assist with a wide variety of efforts from officer protection to missing person recovery.

NSP FOUNdation board

The governing board of the Nebraska State Patrol Foundation is made up of former Patrol officers and business leaders who believe in the Foundation's mission of improving the quality of life in Nebraska by enhancing the law enforcement services of the Nebraska State Patrol.

Andy Anderson served in the U.S. Army before being stationed as a Trooper in Fremont.  He rose to the rank of Field Services Major, retiring in 2007 after nearly 40 years of service to the Patrol.

Dave Gates is a Lincoln native who joined the Nebraska State Patrol in 1968, serving in Kearney, York, Hastings, Norfolk and Lincoln and retiring after 27 years.  He then became involved in security management for the next 15 years.  He has three children and eight grandchildren and lives with his wife, Kathy, in Lincoln.

Judy Janssen is a 1980 graduate of the Nebraska State Patrol Training Academy.  She was stationed in Norfolk and Neligh until 1989 when she was promoted to sergeant and transferred to Lincoln.  She served as lieutenant from 1996 until her retirement from the Patrol in 2007.

Laurie Klosterboer retired from the Nebraska Safety Council in 2019. She was with the Council for 40 years, serving 25 years as executive director.  Currently, she works as a Sergeant-at-Arms at the Nebraska Legislature.

James Pearson served as a Military Police Officer in the U.S. Army and as an officer with the La Vista and Bellevue Police Departments before graduating from the Nebraska State Patrol Training Academy in 1966.  He spent nearly 30 years with the Patrol retiring as Lieutenant Colonel in 1995.

Bryan Jones is a 1985 graduate of Kearney State College. He served as a Deputy Sheriff with the Buffalo County Sheriff's Office until graduating from the Nebraska State Patrol Training Academy in 1988. He was stationed in Grand Island and Lincoln. He was promoted to Sergeant in the Investigative Services Division in 1997 and served in that capacity until his retirement after 30 years of service in 2018.

F. Jane Tooley, a 25-year veteran of the Nebraska State Patrol, retired as Lieutenant in 2001.  She worked eight years with the Nebraska Department of Correctional Services prior to the Nebraska State Patrol and after retiring, worked eleven years as a deputy with the Butler County Sheriff's Office.

Rose White retired after 47 years from AAA in 2020 where she served as the Director of Public Affairs, Government Affairs, and Traffic Safety for the Auto Club Group's Heartland Region which included the States of Nebraska, Iowa, Minnesota, and North Dakota.  In addition, for 23 years she served as the Executive Director of the Cornhusker Motor Club Foundation, an organization supported largely by AAA and its members, dedicated to supporting tourism, safety, education and crime prevention efforts across Nebraska.

Kim Wolfe has held positions with the York and Platte County Sheriff's Departments and the Columbus Fire Department.  He founded and operated Midwest Medical Transport Service and Midwest Med Air from 1987 to 2015.  He now owns and operates Husker Helicopter.

Doug Wyatt has a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Nebraska Wesleyan and also graduated from the Southeast Community College Paramedic Program.  Doug spent 22 years in the private ambulance industry and today is the Executive Director of Lincoln Orthopedic Center.

Fred Zwonechek is an University of Nebraska graduate; Nebraska Highway Safety Administrator for 37 years; Served as Interim Director of Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles; Served on Executive Board for the national Governors Highway Safety Association, 2012 Inductee to the Nebraska Safety and Health Hall of Fame; Chair of Bryan Health Independence Center Advisory Committee; Member of Nebraska Safety Council Traffic Committee; Member Project Extra-Mile Executive Board; Awarded 2017 American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators Martha Irwin Lifetime Achievement Award for Highway Safety; Current Highway Safety Program Management Assessor for state and territorial Highway Safety Offices.