Quick Links
Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Offical NE Website
default rotator image
default masthead image tranparent rotator image

Home > breadcrumbs: Services > breadcrumbs: Concealed Handgun Permits > breadcrumbs: Nebraska Reciprocity >


Ajax Loading Image


Nebraska Reciprocity

The Nebraska Attorney General's Office determines the states from which Nebraska recognizes Concealed Handgun Permits.

As of August 30, 2009, Nebraska will recognize CHP permits issued by those states on the below list which the Nebraska Attorney General has determined have standards equal to or greater than Nebraska. This recognition extends ONLY to persons who are NOT residents of Nebraska. This change in the law allows non-resident permit holders from the approved states to carry handguns concealed in Nebraska the same as if they held a Nebraska permit. See our regulations on this website for restrictions on places where a concealed weapon can carried.


The following states have standards equal to or greater than the standards contained in Nebraska's Statue;

Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota (Class 1 licenses only), Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota (Enhanced permits only), Utah, Virginia, West Virginia (§ 61-7-4 CHL only), Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia.

The following states have standards equal to or greater than the standards contained in Nebraska's statue, but only to the extent the permit holder in that state is twenty-one (21) years of age or older:

California, Iowa (Nonprofessional permit only), Maine, Montana, Tennessee, and Texas.

With regard to the state of Iowa, the Iowa "non-professional" permit is recognized as meeting standards equal to or greater than those contained in Nebraska's statute, but only to the extent the permit holder in Iowa is twenty-one (21) years of age or older.  Nebraska does not recognize the Iowa "professional" permit, as it does not meet or exceed the standards in the Nebraska statute.

The state of Vermont does allow the carrying of concealed firearms within its borders, but it does not require a permit to do so.  As a result, there is no permit to recognize.


The following states will not be recognized at this time because the Attorney General has determined that they DO NOT have standards that are equal or greater than the standards contained in Nebraska's statue.

Alabama, Delaware, Georgia, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota (Class 2 Permit), Pennsylvania, South Dakota (Regular Permit) and Washington.

Permits held by former law enforcement officers as provided by HR218 will continued to be honored. 

For individuals from those states NOT recognized by the State of Nebraska, we do not object to persons bringing their weapons into the State of Nebraska while traveling through our state. We do, however ask that people transport their weapons, unloaded, encased, and inaccessible from all passengers in the vehicle.



Sub Navigation



Nebraska State Patrol

  • Facebook Icon
  • Twitter Icon
  • YouTube Icon
footer imagetranparent footer image

Nebraska State Patrol1600 Highway 2Lincoln, NE  68502

PH: 402-471-4545

Nebraska.govPrivacy and Security Policies

Back To Top