Official Nebraska Government Website

Documentation needed for CCW Initial & Renewal Permit applications:

  • You must appear in person when applying for an Initial or Renewal CCW Permit.  Please click the link to find the NSP location nearest you to make an appointment < Conceal Carry Permit Locations >
  • Completed, signed and notarized application form (check the appropriate box for new or renewal).
  • Proof of identification- Current NE driver's license or NE state issued ID or current military ID.

  • Proof of citizenship-Certified state issued birth certificate, naturalization papers, certificate of citizenship from immigration authorities, or a current or expired US passport (not required for renewals).
  • Proof of vision- Class O NE driver's license/ID or Vision statement from the NSP website.

  • Proof of address- (address on application must match provided documentation) NE driver's license or NE state ID issued at least 180 days ago, active military duty station orders, or two of the following items: utility bill, bank statement, valid Nebraska vehicle registration, Nebraska voter registration card, pay stub or earnings statement, mortgage or lease agreements, or tax documents issued at least 180 days ago.

  • Proof of training- Original or certified copy of Certificate of Completion of a Handgun Training and Safety Course approved by the Nebraska State Patrol (not required for renewals).
  • Your first and last name must be the same on all documentation- If your name is different on any of the documentation, please provide certified documentation for proof of name change such as a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or a court order.

  • $100.00 application fee for a new application and a $50.00 fee for renewal applications- In the form of cash or check.

  • Fingerprints and photographs taken at the time of application submittal.

Permit holders wishing to RENEW a permit to carry a Concealed Handgun may do so any time within four (4) months prior to the expiration of their initial permit. A permit holder letting an initial permit expire without applying for a renewal will be required to apply for another initial permit and meet all of the requirements for an initial permit application.



Documentation needed for Concealed Firearm Instructor:

The instructor application form must be accompanied by the following documentation required by the Concealed Handgun Permit Rules & Regulations

  • Completed application form for Concealed Firearm Instructor

  • A notarized Firearms Instructor Certification to teach handgun courses

  • Proof of identification- Valid photo ID or valid passport.
  • Proof of citizenship-Certified state issued birth certificate, naturalization papers, certificate of citizenship from immigration authorities, or a current or expired US passport.

  • Proposed course curriculum
  • $15.00 criminal history check fee- In the form of cash or check.
  • Fingerprints and photograph taken at time of application submittal

CCW and Instructor applicants must present a completed application form and necessary documentation in person. An appointment is required.  A list of locations and times can be found on the Conceal Carry Information homepage of the NSP website.