Q. How do I
find out if there is a sex offender living in my
The Nebraska State Patrol Sex Offender Registry (SOR) found on
the Nebraska State Patrol website, provides a list of all
registered sex offenders living in the state of Nebraska. The list
is searchable in numerous ways. A list of Frequently Asked
Questions (FAQ's) can also be found on the SOR webpage.
The information provided by the Sex Offender Registry is to be
used to provide public notice and information about a registrant so
a community can develop constructive plans to prepare themselves
and their family.
Sex Offender Registry information shall not be used to retaliate
against the registrants, their families, or their employers in any
way. Vandalism, verbal or written threats of harm are illegal
and will result in arrest and prosecution. In the Quick Links box
above, you will find a link to the Sex Offender Registry.
Q. Is there a
place I can look up traffic laws?
A: You may look up all laws by visiting the Nebraska Unicameral website.
Q. What is the
total vehicle length allowed on Nebraska
A: Nebraska does allow a combination of vehicles (i.e. pickup,
trailer, and boat); however, the total length of the combination of
vehicles cannot exceed 65 feet. You can find more information here.
Nebraska Have a Motorcycle Helmet Law?
A: Yes, State Statute 60-6,279.
Q. How do I
file a Public Information Request?
A: Public Records requests should be in writing and can be:
- Faxed to the attention of the Nebraska State Patrol Legal
- Emailed or Mailed to: Nebraska State Patrol
Legal Division- Public Records Request
P.O. Box 94907
Q. What is
Nebraska's Law when it comes to Child
A: Nebraska's child passenger restraint and occupant protection
law is a primary law. Any person driving in Nebraska can be
stopped and ticketed solely for this violation.
- Children up to age 6 must ride correctly secured in a
federally approved child safety seat (applies to all seating
- A violation will carry a $25 fine and one point will be
assessed against the operator's driving record.
- Children up to age 18 are prohibited from riding in cargo
- Child care providers must transport all children securely in
an appropriate safety seat or safety belt.
GENERAL GUIDELINES FOR SAFE TRANSPORTATION OF CHILDREN:
- Read and follow the manufacturer's guidelines for your child
safety seat and the vehicle owner's manual.
- No more than one finger's width of slack between the child's
collar bone & the harness strap.
- The harness retainer clip should be at arm pit level.
- The safety seat should be installed tight. No more than one
inch of movement side to side or front to back, AT THE BELT
- Children should ride in a rear facing safety seat until they
are at least one year of age AND weighing 20 pounds or more.
- NEVER place a rear-facing child safety seat the front seat of a
vehicle equipped with an air bag.
- If a forward facing child MUST be placed in a seating position
with an air bag, move the seat as far back as possible, out of the
- Older children, generally ages 4-8 and 40 -80 pounds should
ride in a booster seat. Be certain they have upper body protection
and head support. Some vehicles have no shoulder belts or head
restraints in the back seats.
All children 12 and under should ride in the back seat; the
safest place. Proper installation is important for your child's
safety.Check our web site for the next Child Safety Seat check up
near you or contact a Nationally Certified Technician for